The Carol Brandel Award for Distinguished Service in Pupil Transportation is given in honor of Carol Brandel, long-time Administrative Assistant for the Ohio Department of Education Pupil Transportation Office, as judged by the OAPT Officers.  It is the intent of this award to recognize Pupil Transportation Support Staff who exhibit outstanding leadership and professional conduct in the school transportation field, both in the district they represent as well as in the State of Ohio.  This award also recognizes school transportation professionals who have contributed to the advancement of school transportation as a profession.

Carol Brandel is a vital part of the Ohio pupil transportation industry. Her helpful nature, patience, and pleasant demeanor ensure that calls to ODE are answered quickly and correctly.  Transportation administrators throughout Ohio have a tremendous respect for her service, and OAPT is honored to present this annual award in Carol’s name.


Recipients of the Carol Brandel Award:

2021Michelle MainBellbrook-Sugarcreek Local Schools
2020Debbie WagnerSpringfield City School District
2019Jamie ImhoffNorthwestern Local SD
2018Heidi MeansBrecksville-Broadview Heights City Schools
2017Theresa KochFairborn City SD
2016Not Awarded
2015Micheline KrauseAmherst EVSD
2014Darlene BehnePrinceton City SD
2013Carol TylerParma City SD