The William Rice Award of Excellence is given in memory of William Rice to an Ohio Pupil Transportation Administrator selected by the Awards Committee. It is the intent of this award to recognize administrators who exhibit outstanding leadership and professional conduct in the school transportation field, both in the districts they represent and in the State of Ohio, and also to administrators who have contributed to the advancement of school transportation as a profession.

This award is the highest honor that can be given to an Ohio Pupil Transportation Administrator.

To be eligible, nominees must be current OAPT members, must have two or more years of supervisory experience, have involvement in outside or professional activities (legislative, Road-E-O, OAPT committees, state committees) and must show evidence of interest in professional growth by attendance at seminars, regional meetings, and in-service.

Superintendents, Assistant Superintendents, Business Managers, Ohio Department of Education Pre-Service Instructors, and fellow Transportation Administrators are eligible to make nominations.


Recipients of the William Rice Award:

2021Todd SilverthornKettering City Schools
2020Donna MaggardNorthridge Schools
2019Dan GrothauseSt. Marys City SD
2018Colleen Murphy-PenkYoungstown City SD
2017Not Awarded
2016Paul StonekingNorton City SD
2015Debbie MillerWadsworth City SD
2014Brad AemiseggerToledo City SD
2013Jeff Vrabel, Sr.Transit Service, Inc.
2012Steven A. Simmons, IIIColumbus City SD
2011Michael MillerPetermann Transportation
2010Daniel DavisBowling Green City SD
2009Sharon StarkClermont Northeastern Local SD
2008Carolyn Jane ThorntonPrinceton City SD
2007Sharon DoveStreetsboro City SD
2006Jack HaagWest Carrollton City SD
2005Nancy Belle GordonOrange City SD
2004Daniel GirvinMiamisburg City SD
2003Darrell CookWashington-Nile Local SD
2002George Sontag, Jr.Centerville City SD
2001Randy BradfordMt. Vernon City SD
2001Sherry OttPetermann Transportation
2000Velma OntkoWilloughby-Eastlake City SD
1999William LewisMayfield City SD
1998Pete JapikseWinton Woods City SD
1997Charles DensmoreKent City SD
1996Nick SquirePerry Local SD
1995Connie WierCarrollton EVSD
1994David DecsmanToledo City SD
1993Judith TreonHuber Heights City SD
1992Malinda FisherOlentangy Local SD
1991Ted DavisDublin City SD
1990James RandallSpringfield City SD